Nike Debuts World’s First 3D-Printed Football Boot

March 4, 2013 § 10 Comments

The Nike Vapor Lazer Talon contains a revolutionary 3D-printed sole designed to improve traction and acceleration. It also has arguably the best name for a football boot I have ever heard!

Lukeandjules_nike vapor-1.jpg
Lukeandjules_nike vapor-2.jpg
Nike worked with gold medal winning sprinter Michael Johnson and Nike SPARQ during development to produce the next phase of their successful vapor line. MJP Performance Director, Lance Walker, commented on the ‘zero step’ capability of athletes which determine that first step, his propulsion and acceleration speed. Beyond speed, the technology has exciting possibilities for the future. The Olympian himself observed:

“Nike’s new 3D printed plate is contoured to allow football athletes to maintain their drive position longer and more efficiently, helping them accelerate faster through the critical first 10 yards of the 40,” said Johnson. “Translated to the game of football, mastering the Zero Step can mean the difference between a defensive lineman sacking the quarterback or getting blocked.”

Today, manufacturers create footwear and clothing at a range of sizes to best fit the consumer. The adoption of 3D printing could allow people to perfectly design their equipment to their bodies in the future!

For Nike, this is just another rise for what I describe as my favourite brand. The most recent advert for the Nike mercurial vapors with Cristiano Ronaldo, by W & K Portland/Tokyo, is one of my favourite ads of this year (and not just because I am a Manchester United fan… honest!)

and lets not forget the amazing ‘Bid Your Sweat’ campaign by JWT Mexico!

Full story on the Nike Vapor Lazer Talon here!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Nike Debuts World’s First 3D-Printed Football Boot

  • I leave a response when I appreciate a article on a blog
    or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It’s caused by the fire communicated in the post I looked at. And on this article Nike Debuts Worlds First 3D-Printed Football Boot | luke and jules. I was actually moved enough to post a comment 🙂 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be only me or does it look as if like some of the responses appear like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional social sites, I’d like to follow anything new you have to post.
    Could you list all of all your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  • Useful information. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  • Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing
    around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  • Luis says:

    What’s up, always i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in the morning,
    for the reason that i like to learn more and more.

  • Kristan says:

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this web site, for the reason
    that i want enjoyment, as this this web site conations actually fastidious funny stuff too.

  • Amazing issues here. I am very happy to look your article.

    Thanks a lot and I’m having a look ahead to contact you.

    Will you please drop me a mail?

  • Ramonita says:

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff
    right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nike Debuts World’s First 3D-Printed Football Boot at luke and jules.

meta

