My favourite advert of 2012

January 14, 2013 § 3 Comments

I thought about writing a generic ‘my favourite adverts of 2012’ post but the sheer bombardment of ‘top 2012’ articles online at the moment convinced me to put a bit more effort in – (if that’s what you’re looking for then Campaign did a great round up here). Instead I thought long and hard about my favourite advertising over the past year and decided on a perhaps controversial favourite: Dollar Shave Club’s ‘Our blades are f***ing great’.

So why this advert? Why not P&G’s ‘Best job’ by W & K or the formidable John Lewis Christmas advert by Adam & Eve/DDB? Why not the ingenious Lynx Sorry Harry print ad by BBH or The Return of Dictator Ben Ali by Memac Ogilvy Label Tunis?

Firstly, the DSC ad was written by and features the company’s real CEO, Michael Dubin although it could well have been directed by Judd Apatow. It was also shot by friends in a single day and for only $4,500! I think the content is fantastic, it strikes the perfect balance between comedy and an almost aggressively confident sales-pitch yet never taking itself too seriously. The target audience and objective is clear and executed perfectly. The advert was a great hit online too, wrapping up over 8 million views. Compare that to John Lewis’ 3 million views or even the 81,000 for the very good KitKat ‘A break from gravity‘ ad by JWT London and you’ll agree it’s an impressive reach.

If you’d like to see all my favourite adverts then have a look at my Great Advertising Pinterest board.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to My favourite advert of 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My favourite advert of 2012 at luke and jules.

meta

